Thanksgiving Every Day

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day. It’s a holiday celebrated by most Americans. When we think of Thanksgiving we often think of food and family and how God has blessed us. I think it would be wonderful if we made every day a day of thanksgiving! No, we don’t have to take time off work, prepare a big feast or invite people into our homes. Holidays can often bring stress, and this can often put a damper on the day’s significance. I’m talking about having a thankful heart.

I know some really negative people. I was talking to a coworker today who said her mother-in-law is a real drag to be around. No one wants to visit her because she gripes about everything. We have a choice to complain about our troubles or to dwell on our blessings. We can choose to look at the difficult circumstances of each day or to look at what lies ahead of us. I like to begin my day thanking God for the very breath I breathe before I even get out of bed! I am so grateful that God has allowed me another day to enjoy my life here on Earth and serve His eternal kingdom. He could end my life in a moment, but He desires me to live, love and serve. It helps me to go about my day with a positive and thankful attitude. No matter where we are life, we can be thankful that God loves us, Jesus died for us and we will live eternally forever with the God Most High! Whether you live in Beverly Hills or a shanty town, we ALL have this in common!

Psalm 100 says we should “make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands. Serve the LORD with gladness: come before His presence with singing. Know ye that the LORD He is God: it is He that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are His people, and the sheep of His pasture. Enter into His gates with thanksgiving, and into His courts with praise: be thankful unto Him, and bless His name. For the LORD is good; His mercy is everlasting; and His truth endureth to all generations.” We should be thankful because we serve an amazing God who is good and merciful and has given us more than 3,000 promises that He has or will fulfill without fail! We are called to be joyful, glad and thankful. When you think of all that Christ has done for you, this shouldn’t be too difficult. We are God’s people, and He loves us beyond all measure. He went to great lengths on our behalf, sparing no expense, sacrificing His only Son and redeeming our souls!

Paul gives thanks in the beginning of many of his letters. In 1 Thessalonians 5:18 Paul even tells us to “give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” You may be wondering how on Earth this possible in this imperfect world. The Bible says that in this life there will be great tribulation. Life is hard. How we handle it makes all the difference. The Bible tells us in Romans 12:12 to “rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” We have the hope of eternal life – nothing and no one can rob us of this! When we suffer, time seems to slow down, but God wants us to wait for His direction and timing, for He has a plan and purpose for our lives. When we pray, we take a situation out of our hands and place it into God’s hands. He knows what is best for our lives, and this should bring us peace of mind.

Let us remember each day to “praise the LORD. Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good: His love endures forever.” AMEN!
About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

