Friendship with God: Part 1

I have been thinking about my relationship with God. I don’t want Him to be a mere acquaintance in my life. After all, He did give up everything for me. ME a wretched sinner who deserves death, freed by the blood of Jesus! I want Him to be my friend – my best friend. I want Jesus to be the first one I run to when I have a bad day or exciting news. I want to pour my heart out to Him and share with Him all my hopes and dreams. I want it to become second nature to spend quality time with Him. Too often I wait until something happens before I give Him that kind of space in my life. I think we all need a good kick in the pants now and again to remind us of Jesus’ place in our lives! Is God your best friend? How would you describe your relationship with Him?

JoAnne Sekowsky in her Bible study “Friendship With God” speaks of the beautiful friendship between Jonathan and David and how it parallels our friendship with Jesus:

  • He is the son of a king.
  • He is one in spirit with us.
  • He has made a covenant of friendship with us.
  • He defends us.
  • He reconciles us to His father.
  • He is loyal to us.
  • He strengthens us in God.

It is awesome to look at Jesus from this perspective! It paints a picture of His relationship with us. Jesus is for us, always at our side when needed, ready to defend us unto death. He is the bridge between us God, and His spirit lives within us, strengthening us and shaping us day by day.

What a privilege it is to be God’s friend! In the Old Testament Moses spoke face to face with God, standing with the cloud of God’s Presence at the entrance to the Tent of Meeting (Exodus 33:7-11). This temporary dwelling was set up in a special and specific way, designed by God, to illustrate the relationship between Him and His people. The people couldn’t enter the Tent of Meeting (also called tabernacle or sanctuary). They kept their distance at their own tents. When they saw Moses talk to God, they were awestruck and worshipped God. They could go to this special tent far away from the rest of camp and Moses would talk to God on their behalf. They needed visual evidence of His presence. The scriptures say that Joshua never left the Tent, choosing to remain in the presence of God.

Did you know Moses could talk to God face to face, but we are offered something even better? Moses met with God only where God instructed. As believers of Jesus Christ, we have direct access to God. Ephesians 3:12 says, “In Him and through faith in Him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.” The Holy Spirit lives inside of us, and we can spend time with God whenever we feel like it! We never have to leave the Tent, so to speak, because Jesus has actually brought us into the Tent. John 1:14 says, “And the Word become flesh and lived among us.” The Greek translation says He tabernacled among us! When He died, He gave us His Holy Spirit to dwell in us, so now you and I are His dwelling place while we are here on Earth (1 Corinthians 3:16)! It’s truly a shame we don’t spend more time with God since He has made it so easy for us to do.

In Part 2 we’ll look at how and why Christians can enter God’s presence and have direct access to God, and in Part 3 we’ll look at how you and I can develop a more intimate friendship with Him.

God bless!

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendship with God: Part 1

  1. popsdumonde says:

    This is such a wonderful reminder of the relationship that God wants with us. It really is amazing that the God of the entire universe seeks us out and desires fellowship with us.
    Your purpose to go to Jesus first with your news and seeking Him constantly is great. We do enjoy direct access through Jesus, something I need to remember as I scramble here and there to get direction or answers. Ultimately, it all boils down to God’s timing, His control. I really need patience!

    • Hi there!

      Amen – God know best what is best for us, timing and all. 🙂 I hope this coming year will bring you fresh perspective on your life. You can leave behind your fears, pain and regrets and surrender them once and for all to Jesus. God makes us new creations, and He wants to make a beautiful one out of you in 2011! He has a plan and a future for you, and it is more wonderful than you can even imagine. 🙂 Cast all your cares upon Him because He cares for you. His yoke is easy and His burden is light!

      God bless!

Leave a Reply

