A Godly Man

I am posting this as an encouragement to my new WordPress friend, Stan. I wrote this a few years before I met my husband. My best friend Sherri and I were daydreaming about our “ideal husband.” Below is what I wrote that day in 2002. I hope you enjoy this poem! I am blessed to have a Godly husband who loves Jesus. God really does answer prayers!

A Godly Man

“What does the world see in me?”
He asks himself each day.
And humbly prostrates himself,
Before the Lord’s majestic throne to pray.
“Lord,” he cries out, “you’re my Savior and my King.
I pray the world would see Jesus Christ today in everything.
Please take away this sin of mine and cleanse me deep within.
For you are my deepest longing, and lost souls I long to win.
Use me as your vessel, Lord, and purify my heart.
Use this precious day of yours to grant to me a brand new start.”

As he slowly rises, he gently tells his wife,
“My beloved, the Lord has blessed me,
Because he brought you into my life.”
And at that very moment, he shuts his eyes once again,
And slips slowly into silent prayer, with his eyes raised to heaven.
“Oh Lord, how I thank you, each and everyday,
For bringing me this woman to love and cherish along the way.
I pray right now for you to show me her each and every need,
And help me to fulfill them, in my action and in my deed.”

Laughter in the kitchen interrupts his pensive prayer.
And quickly he leaves his closet, and enters into there.
His children come running toward him,
Their faces he longs to see,
As he tilts his head a little lower,
To see those clinging to his knee.
“Lord,” he prays, “how I love each one ever so dearly.
For each one is a precious gift from you to me.
Teach me to be the father, Lord, that you would have me be.”

After breakfast he leaves to go to work,
And in the car he prays again,
To reveal all the demons that lurk.
And to show him where they have been.
For in this world a battle rages,
And evil of sorts has been unleashed from its cages.
“Lord,” he says, “please show me how to be like you,
In all that I must say and do.
And as I lead my fellow man today,
Shine your light into his darkened way.
Bind us all in unity, for that is how to sow,
And let us each encourage one another mutually,
And help us all to grow.”

And on this day this man of God’s will let Him lead the way,
And guide his path in righteousness all throughout the day.

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Godly Man

  1. popsdumonde says:

    What a beautiful poem! I am so glad you found a Godly man and I am sure he praises God for his godly woman.
    I have been so blessed by your encouragement, your posts and prayers. I thank God for directing me to your blog and for finding a faithful servant who holds God’s truth supreme.
    Your WordPress and friend in Christ,
    Stan
    God’s richest blessings to you and your husband.

    • Hi Stan,

      I decided to write a blog and share what God places on my heart so I could be an encouragement to others. Thank you for letting me know you appreciate my blog and for your kind words! I appreciate your friendship, and I will continue to pray for you and everything surrounding your life circumstances right now. It is truly a pleasure to read your blogs, which are written from an honest and sincere heart. Best wishes as you close this 2010 chapter and begin anew in 2011! God will do many new and wonderful things for you! As each day unfolds, I pray you will find its beauty. I pray you will draw closer to Him as He draws closer to you. May you grow in His image, and may He continue to bless you, use you for His kingdom and show you a glorious future!

      In Him,

      Christina

      • popsdumonde says:

        Thanks Christina,
        I am encouraged that there are still believers who honor God’s word. I appreciate your prayers and I know that they have helped. Your Bible expositions are very timely and are very beneficial to restoring me to the place God has for me.
        As you know there are people blogging, who set themselves up as the only ones who really understand what Christianity means today. If I were to subscribe to their teachings, I would have no hope.
        I always understood one of the callings of accepting salvation was to be sanctified. I realize this to be a painful process, if we resist it, but as Jesus says, His burden is light. Compared to a life of pride-filled compromising, His burden is light indeed!
        May you and your husband have a blessed New Years. I feel with people like you interceding on my behalf and with your sharing God’s wisdom, in addition to direct access to God through Jesus Christ, how can I fail?
        Your friend in Christ,
        Stan

Leave a Reply

