A Gift…in a Dream

God has the most amazing ways of helping us through hard times. God knows right now I am homesick – more than I ever have been since we moved to Boise. I miss my parents so much right now. Well, I had a difficult time drifting off to sleep last night, despite a sleepless night the one before, but I eventually slept and SLEPT! I am so thankful it is Saturday. I slept until nearly 11 a.m. God did something truly amazing in my sleep. He gave me a dream so real it was like a gift. 🙂 I really miss the beach more than any other place in San Diego. I dreamed my parents and I were vacationing at a seaside town in Oregon. We were walking together along a boardwalk next to a beautiful beach! We were enjoying all the little shops together and just being in each other’s company. I could even hear the sounds of the crashing waves against the rocks. What a lovely dream. God has truly blessed me as I awake today. The last time I had a dream this real was five years ago a few months after my grandpa died. In that dream, it almost felt like I had a chance to say goodbye to him. God has many ways of helping up cope through the struggles of this life. As a military wife, I struggle with being physically separated from my family.

I just started reading a new book yesterday called “Living Water: The Power of the Holy Spirit” by Chuck Smith. Did you know there are 80 references to the Holy Spirit in the Old Testament alone? Wow! I finished the book’s first chapter, but I already have a better understanding of the trinity, and I’ve been thinking about all the ways He is Paraklete, “one called alongside to help.” Parakletos is the Greek Word for Comforter. The Holy Spirit is our Comforter. Perhaps this dream I had was one way He is is comforting me right now.

I also was reminded that the Holy Spirit is a person! Many cults are recognizable because they don’t believe in the trinity. Many cults believe the Holy Spirit is “an essence.” The Bible makes it clear, however, that the Holy Spirit is indeed a person. The Holy Spirit has intelligence (1 Corinthians 2:10-13) , will (1 Corinthians 12, Acts 15:28, Acts 6:6-7) and emotion (Ephesians 4:30, Isaiah 63:10, Romans 15:30). The Bible uses personal pronouns in describing the Holy Spirit, and personal pronouns are only used for people. Sixteen times in the New Testament the word “echeinos” is used, which means “he” in masculine gender. Check out John 14:16-17, 14:26, 15:26; 16:7-14; 16:13 to read this for yourself.

The Holy Spirit is even treated like a person. He can be lied to (Acts 5:3), resisted (Acts 7:51) and even blasphemed (Mark 3:28). The Holy Spirit also speaks! Check out Acts 13:2, 1 Timothy 4:1 and Revelation 2:7. I have always loved the fact that the Holy Spirit intercedes for us (John 15:26). Romas 8:26 says, “For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” (We don’t need to worry about prayeing perfectly!) The Holy Spirt also teaches us (John 14:26, Nehemiah 9:20), communes with us (2 Corininthians 3:14), strives for us (Genesis 6:3), work miracles for us (Romans 15:19) and guides us (Acts 16:6-7). As Chuck Smith says, only a person could do all of these things! Because the Holy Spirit is a Person, Smith says, we can enjoy a relationship with Him graced with all of these loving and personal attentions!

I don’t know about you, but I am greatly looking forward to better recognizing the work of the Holy Spirit in my life and learning how to grow in my relationship with Him. God is leading us! I am greatly encouraged by what I have begun to read in this book. How can anyone truly feel lonely as a Christian if they understand how the Holy Spirit is moving upon their life?! Let us be thankful and give praise for the Holy Spirit!

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Gift…in a Dream

  1. popsdumonde says:

    A wonderful dream. I believe God ministers to us in our dreams, as He has for you in that team.

    I’ll have to check out that book, sounds great. It is so refreshing to hear you testify of your faith. So many people seem to be diluting the Word and pursuing their own interpretation of it.

  2. 🙂 I never thought much about God ministering to us in our dreams, but I am sure He does so. My best friend and her mom actually have a spiritual gift of being about to see some future events. Their stories are incredible of how God has used their dreams to save a life, etc. I think of Joseph in the Bible and the dreams he had. God certainly ministered to him while he was imprisoned and gave him hope and allowed him to see into the future. Yes, this book is awesome! I find a lot of good books at the thrift stores nearby written by Billy Graham, Greg Laurie, Chuck Smith and many others. I love books that illuminate God’s word!

Leave a Reply

