God Answers Prayers…in His Time

God is doing some amazing things in my life right now! Prayers are getting answered big time for us!!!

 

First of all, I read an article in the paper last night that one of our state representatives introduced a bill that is an answer to prayer: HB 30 would allow military families as well and those serving on religious and humanitarian missions to continue to receive property tax exemptions, even if their homes are not owner-occupied, as long as they say in writing they plan to come back here once their service ends. I cannot even tell you how amazing the timing is for this bill. I just found out four months ago about not qualifying for the property tax exemption while we are relocated for eight years until my husband Mark’s retirement. Our saving plan radically changed once we learned how many extra thousands of dollars we would have to pay. I wrote a long letter to my representative last night. He wrote me back immediately, and he is going to share my letter in the House as he shepherds the bill along the remainder if it’s course!

 

Second, our mortgage company which has been squeezing us with an extra $400 a month to cover money needed for our escrow account said they 1) overcharged us and 2) will drop this extra $400 a month since our property taxes went down and our homeowners exemption is now in place. (Once we move, we’d have to start paying these outrageous fees once again unless HB 30 passes.) They told us last October we’d have to pay $400 extra a month for a whole year! It is an answer to prayer that we aren’t under so much financial strain anymore. (I sincerely hope HB 30 passes!) It could also answer another prayer: to drive down and spend some time with my family this August.

 

Third, I made a decision NOT to pursue schooling once again after my information session for an online copyediting certification program. My husband Mark instead decided to pursue schooling! He only needs 30 credits through Ashford University (an online school known as being a top-rated institution serving our military) to receive a bachelor’s degree in Health Care studies! Each “credit” is five weeks long, so he believes he could be done in a year to a year and a half, which is about the time we will have to relocate. He went to independent duty corpsman school a few years ago in San Diego. Although he did not pass the program for a couple of different reasons, he was told he could apply those credits towards bachelor’s degree. I’ve been praying for three years he’d go back and finish school. The timing was never right, until now! In addition, he may qualify for tuition assistance.

 

Fourth, I have always dreamed of the day I would be able to go into a room full of public relations students and pitch a PR project proposal to them. God knows the desires of our hearts. I always wanted my career to come “full circle” before starting a family. I knew since I was 17 I wanted to be a public relations guru. I graduated college in 2002 with a Communication degree with a PR emphasis. I was named PR student of the year! The City of San Diego’s Stormwater Pollution Prevention Program asked my senior year class to write a PR proposal for their Think Blue education program. I was tasked with writing the situation analysis for my group, and it was then I learned all about water pollution. I thought it would be great to have a career in PR helping fight the pollution that ends up in our beaches, bays and waterways. Now I work as an event coordinator at the Boise WaterShed Environmental Education Center. Our mission is to “promote environmental stewardship by teaching people of all ages to protect and conserve our precious natural resources.” We promote water-based exhibits and lessons. To top it off: 1) I just got trained yesterday to take over the City of Boise’s storm drain marking program and 2) I’m pitching a PR project proposal next Tuesday to students at BSU in a PR Campaigns service learning class!

 

Lastly, I’ve been so busy with work. We had 150 people for our Amazing Ice Lab event last Friday. There were three of us barely managing that many people, but I prayed to God we’d be covered while my boss was away on a cruise, and we were. Again, this Monday, we has 70 people for our Winter Wildlife program. We had just enough staff and volunteer help to pull it off. I am so thankful our numerous winter programs are done and were a success – I planned all of them!  It was a lot of work, and I prayed to God these events would go well and draw in many visitors. All three of my top supervisors congratulated me for a job well done. Thank you Lord!

All of these things are things I have been praying for for months and years! In time, God really does answer prayers! I encourage you to write down and share with others when you sense a time in your life when God is opening doors and opportunities for you that can only be explained as answered prayer.

 

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8

God bless,

 

Christina

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God Answers Prayers…in His Time

  1. It’s amazing how God knows just the right time to answer our prayers! I’m encouraged by reading your post as I have also been praying for the last few years for some big-time requests. I see God working and am excited to see how he answers…thanks for the post!

    • You are most welcome! It can be very discouraging at time. Faith has its peaks and valleys. Continue to pray without ceasing! God hears your prayers, and I know in His time He will be faithful to answer them. He knows the desires of our hearts, and He has great hope and plans for your future! God bless. Have a great day!

  2. popsdumonde says:

    Great news all around, God certainly is good! It’s so fun reading this post, your excitement jumps of the screen.

    I have no doubt that we will be hearing more “praise” reports from you. You are an encouragement and I am grateful for your prayers and for sharing your life with us.

Leave a Reply

