Rely on God for Healing

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

The holidays can be fun to share with family and friends, but sometimes germs are passed around. Every single person in our office is either sick or has recently gotten over a nasty cold or the flu. This morning I woke up with sinus congestion, pain and lack of energy. I guess it’s my turn. The LORD sustains them on their sickbed and restores them from their bed of illness” Psalm 41:3. This is one verse I love to hold onto when I am not feeling well. Did you know Jehovah-Rapha means “The Lord Who Heals?”

When I am sick, I thank God for the times I am usually healthy, and for the opportunity to rest and recover. I always think about how–after all these years–there still is no cure for the common cold. Sometimes we must rely on God more than medicine, doctors and our own strength for healing. We must fully rely on God for strength, healing, restoration, renewal, knowledge, wisdom, guidance, direction, hope, spiritual Truth, and for everyday decisions.

I love thinking about Jesus when I am sick. When He came to Earth He healed the sick, the tormented, the blind, and the lame everywhere He went. He had a heart for the well being of His people. He cared greatly for them, and He still cares about each one of us today. Below are some verses that illustrate God’s love and compassion to encourage those of us who are or have been afflicted.

Then Jesus returned in the power of the Spirit to Galilee … “The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, because He has anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor. He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord.” (Luke 4:14,18)

“And when Jesus went out He saw a great multitude; and He was moved with compassion for them, and healed their sick.” (Matthew 14:14)

“When evening had come, they brought to Him many who were demon-possessed. And He cast out the spirits with a word, and healed all who were sick.” (Matthew 8:16)

“But when the multitudes knew it, they followed Him; and He received them and spoke to them about the kingdom of God, and healed those who had need of healing.” (Luke 9:11)

“… who came to hear Him and be healed of their diseases, as well as those who were tormented with unclean spirits. And they were healed. And the whole multitude sought to touch Him, for power went out from Him and healed them all.” (Luke 6:17)

If you are ill, pray to God and ask Him for healing. He has the power to heal you. Have faith that He will restore you. Know that whatever it is you ask for, He will hear you. He loves to use us in our moments of weakness to demonstrate His power and great love for us.

Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray.” (James 5:13)

“The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” (James 5:16)

“Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7)

“Yet you do not have because you do not ask.” (James 4:2)

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” (Hebrews 11:1)

“Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.” (Mark 11:24)

If you are sick, pray, have faith, rest, and wait for God’s healing. Praise the Lord for His compassion, His grace, and His steadfast and unfailing love towards us!

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

