King David’s Life

Your house and your kingdom shall endure before Me forever; your throne shall be established forever.” 2 Samuel 7:16

David began as a young shepherd boy. God sent the prophet Samuel to search for a king to replace Saul, who was disobeying God. When Samuel came to David’s house, his father Jesse thought that one of David’s older brothers would be king. David was out tending sheep when Samuel asked if Jesse had any more sons. He was the youngest, but God knew David had a heart that was right before Him. “The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7. Do not worry about what others think of you; concern yourself with how God views you life!

Samuel anointed David as the next king of Israel. David was a teenager when this happened. He didn’t become king right away. It took about 17 years for him to become king over all of Israel. These 17 years weren’t easy for David. David had to leave his home and his best friend Jonathan, who later died in battle. David just waited on the Lord. He could have become frustrated or upset he wasn’t king yet, but he knew God would take care of everything. He knew he would one day become king over Israel just as God promised him. Do you trust God’s timing and direction for your life?

King Saul had become very jealous of David. He knew that because of his disobedience to God that one day he would be replaced. He thought that the only way to keep David from becoming king would be to kill him. Saul chased David through the wilderness for 10 years trying to kill him. Saul had about 3,000 soldiers with him as he was searching for David. David learned to trust in the Lord to deliver him, protect him and provide for all of his needs. These were important things for a good king to learn. God used these years to teach David some valuable lessons. What is God showing you right now?

When King Saul and Jonathan died in battle, David still didn’t become king over all of Israel right away. He only became king over his own people, the tribe of Judah. The other tribes wanted one of Saul’s sons to rule over them. Saul’s son Ishbosheth became ruler over the other 11 tribes of Israel. After seven years, Ishbosheth died and there were no other sons to take his place. But God always had a plan for David’s life. David became king over all of Israel, just as God had promised. He was about 30 years old when he started to reign in Judah and was about 37 years old when he became king over all of Israel. All together, he reigned as king for 40 years. David’s throne would be established forever. Jesus Christ was a physical descendant of David and His throne is everlasting. God always keeps His promises!

God has great plans for our lives when we follow Him. As you grow up and look at the wonderful things you can do with your life, be sure to include God. Ask Him what His plans are for your life. God has greater plans for your life than you can even imagine! Doing God’s will is the best thing you could ever do. He will bless you for your obedience!

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.'” Jeremiah 29:11-13

Pray this Prayer: “Dear God, thank You believing in me and for having a purpose and plan for my life. Please take the lead in my journey through life. Help me to walk where You direct me and to obey your commands, so that I may become the person You would have me be. Amen.”

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

