Avoid Sand Castle Faith

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

I grew up in Souther California near the Pacific Ocean. I love the smell of the ocean air, the sound of crashing waves, the sand beneath my feet. As a child, I spent a lot of time at the beach boogie boarding, exploring tide pools, swimming, sunbathing, and making sand castles. I remember having a plastic shovel and bucket. I would dig a trench, build up the sand and shape it into a castle, add sandy drips on top and then find a few stray seashells on the beach to add the finishing touch. Sand castles are so fun to build, but the waves quickly topple them and wash them away.

Is your faith like a sand castle? As Christians we should be able to weather the storms of this life. We should be able to stand upon God’s Word. Although the wind is howling, the waves are beating, the rain is pouring, the skies are ominous, and it feels like we may cave in at any moment, the strength of the Lord will hold us together. “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging” Psalm 46:1-3. We cry out God to help us, knowing He is there in the midst of the storm. We will not be like sand castles that fall apart, wash away and drift wherever the tides carry us.

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.” Matthew 7:24-27

Our faith should be rock solid. Jesus Christ is the surest foundation we can lay. This foundation will not crack or split apart. It will endure forever! Despite all the crazy things that happen to us, our faith will stand firm in Jesus Christ. We should use God’s Word to build us up and as building blocks of our faith. “I will show you what he is like who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice. He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built. But the one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. The moment the torrent struck that house, it collapsed and its destruction was complete” Luke 6:47-49. Spending time daily in God’s Word builds and strengthens faith and helps prevent collapse when the tough times come.

We cannot believe in everything, and we must be careful we don’t follow man’s religion. We must not fall for just anything. A lot of people follow whatever doctrine is espoused by pop culture, which changes so quickly. People may believe one thing one day and another thing the next because they have not found something or someone to believe in with all their heart. Jesus is the only Truth. He has the power to transform us in such a way that we must declare our heart transplants to be true miracles. He gives us new purpose and new life. We cannot go back to being blind and walking in the darkness because we know Jesus is real. “Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming” Ephesians 4:14. Jesus will be our anchor, so we do not drift and simply go with the flow. While the world around us changes and its beliefs, Jesus will never change! “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. Do not be carried away by varied and strange teachings” Hebrews 13:8-9.

We can build a mighty fortress to protect ourselves from harm and the evil one by placing our trust in the Lord. “Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust. If you say, ‘The LORD is my refuge,’ and you make the Most High your dwelling, no harm will overtake you, no disaster will come near your tent. For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. You will tread on the lion and the cobra;  you will trample the great lion and the serpent” Psalm 91:1-2, 9-13. Satan will always try to crumble our faith. He will gladly knock over those who have faith like sand castles. It may take one instant, or he may work on us over a long period of time in attempt to tear us down piece by piece. He will try with all his might to knock over those who are built of stone, but he will try in vain. He will not succeed. The Lord will protect those with rock solid faith in Jesus Christ!

Pray this Prayer: “Dear Lord, thank you for the faith I found in Jesus Christ and the firm foundation I lay with your precious Word. Protect me and shield me from harm when the storms blow my way. Crush the enemy under your feet. Encourage me and build me up. Help me to be strong and courageous and to place my trust and my hope in you. Amen.”

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avoid Sand Castle Faith

  1. I never built sandcastles as a child. I grew up in wartime England and the beaches were mined and covered in barbed wire. Now I thrill at the view of beaches but I have never been fond of being there except after dusk, because we live in tropical Queensland.

    I do love mountain scenery and especially rocky outcrops. Maybe this is at least partly because I know the REALITY of being secure in THE ROCK.

    I suffered extreme abuse of all kinds for the first 22 years of my life, but for the last 53 years I have known, loved and served my loving heavenly Father, and have experienced the REALITY of being secure in Him. He is my Redeemer, my Strength and Enabler, my Comfort and Encourager, my Sustainer and Provider, my Challenger, my Guide . . . my Everything. When I stray, He lovingly draws me back to Himself. I can heartily sing ‘On Christ the solid Rock I stand’ because He has been that to me for 53 years and He has never failed me.

    What an amazing God!

Leave a Reply

