Doers of the Word

Image from thechoicedrivenlife.com

“But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.” James 1:25

When Jesus was on the earth as the Son of Man, He was a doer of the Word. He always listened to the Father and obeyed what the Father told Him. Jesus always wanted to do what was pleasing to the Father. He never reasoned or made excuses because He wanted to do His Father’s will and not his own. Jesus knew the danger of being a hearer. “But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves. For if anyone only listens to the Word without obeying it and being a doer of it, he is like a man who looks carefully at his [own] natural face in a mirror; For he thoughtfully observes himself, and then goes off and promptly forgets what he was like” James 1:22-25. Are you delusional? God does not want us to sit back and do nothing when there is a need we can fill. He wants us to be men and women of action. We can accomplish so much more for Jesus Christ if we decide today to go and do that for which we have been called as Christians. We are representatives of Jesus Christ and should make every effort to be like Him.

Jesus went about everywhere doing the Word. He cast out demons, He healed the sick, and He raised people from the dead. He gave sight to the blind, and healed the broken hearted. He took 2 fish and a couple of loaves of bread and multiplied them to feed 5,000 men. He spoke to the storm and told the wind to be still and guess what? It stood still. Jesus also turned water into wine. Those are just a few things that He did. Wouldn’t you say He was doing the Word? He was not sitting back hearing the Word about casting out demons and saying to himself, “I do not know if I can do that, I sure hope I can do that someday.” Jesus just did it. Mark 16:17-18 says, ” And these signs shall follow them that believe; in my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; they shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.”  Jesus did all these things, and as followers of Jesus Christ, and by the power of the Holy Spirit within us, we can do the same.

Have you been hearing the voice of the Holy Spirit speaking to you about a certain thing to do, or a place to go, to give something away that maybe you are holding on to? Maybe He has prompted you in an area that maybe you have tried to reason, or maybe just ignored that voice or prompting. I can assure you that the prompting will keep coming, until you do what He is speaking to you to do. Remember it is in being an active doer of the Word that you will be blessed in your doing. Everything else is just busywork. All of God’s promises are already yours.

Pray this Prayer: “Dear Lord, please help me not to just hear your Word, but to live your Word. Give me confidence and boldness to obey You. Help not to hesitate when the Holy Spirit instructs me on what to do. I place my trust in You. Let me live as an Ambassador for Jesus Christ. May others recognize I am a child of God by the decisions and actions I make. Not my will, but yours be done. Help me make a difference in this world, and let all glory, honor and praise be unto your Holy Name. Amen.”

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

