Wait on the Lord

This month has certainly been a month to wait upon the Lord. This is my “verse of the month.” My husband Mark and I went together to my see my first ultrasound last Wednesday, and they didn’t see my baby, so I had some blood work done. Two hours later, Mark began his drive from Boise, ID to Erie, PA. It was a scary moment for me. He was gone, and I was left with the uncertainty of this pregnancy’s outcome. I was also uncertain about how Mark’s 2,100-mile journey would play out. The Lord has repeatedly told me directly and told me through others to wait upon him.

My husband was so blessed to have missed a major blizzard by only hours. He had barely passed through Wyoming and Nebraska when the storm hit hard, dumping more than six inches of snow on a bone dry landscape. He had a wonderful opportunity to visit his cousin in Ohio. She lives five and half hours from Erie. Mark got to spend time with his cousin and her husband and their three young children. She is in the military and just relocated from Japan. Mark and I feel so blessed we will not be too far from family. Mark is adjusting well to his new military duty station. He is currently trying to find the place the Lord has waiting for us to call our new home. I am so thankful God gave him safe travel. I look forward to seeing him again in two and half months and seeing how the Lord strengthens our faith during this time of absence from one another.

I had follow-up blood work done Saturday, and learned today my hormone levels increased. They are low, and the doctors have not ruled out an ectopic (tubal) pregnancy. I had one last July, and I’ve had some symptoms with this pregnancy that concern me. I am keeping a close eye on everything, and the hospital is close by should I have anything alarming happen. My entire family feels this pregnancy will have a positive outcome. I say, let the Lord’s plans and purpose prevail! He knows what is best for me! This has become my motto this year with so much change happening right now. It is both exciting and scary. I will go back to the doctor later this month. I keep hearing the Lord telling me over and over and over and over again to wait on Him.

Sometimes in can be REALLY hard to wait upon the Lord. You want answers NOW. What can you do during this time of waiting? Well, Satan would like to fill your mind with worry and doubt. He wants to discourage you and frighten you. He wants to distract you from what God would have you hear, say and do today. He wants to cloud your mind and your thoughts. He wants to you spend less time with the Lord and more time dwelling on your circumstances. He wants you to look around instead of looking up to the Lord. Don’t let Satan have a foothold!

The Bible says we should cast all our cares upon Him. He tells us we should be anxious for nothing but with prayer and thanksgiving we are to make our requests known to Him. When we pray, we need to release our fears, anxieties and circumstances to Him. Let go. Let go for good. Know that you and your situation are in God’s hands. He reminds us He will never leave us nor forsake us. He is always there with us walking with us through life’s joys and pitfalls. He is the Alpha and the Omega, the Almighty God! Nothing is impossible with Him! We are to trust Him and lean not on our own understanding. His ways are higher than our ways, and His thoughts are higher than our thoughts. He knows the plans He has for us. Plans to prosper us and not to harm us. Plans to give us a hope and a future. He is in control of all things, and He knows everything to come.

When you are waiting on the Lord, be encouraged! Let others pray for you and with you. Be sure that you pray too! Prayers are powerful, and God hears every single one of them. Spend time in God’s Word. Let the voice of God drown out the voice of Satan. The scriptures will bring you renewed hope and a sense of peace. Most of all, praise the Lord. It seems hard to praise the Lord when you are scared and uncertain about something. Do it anyways. It not only pleases the Lord, but it will do your soul and spirit good. When we praise the Lord, we acknowledge our awesome God! When we sing about how great our God is, we cannot help but be encouraged! It reminds us that God is unlike anything here on Earth. God is magnificent and mighty. There is nothing our God cannot do.

When I feel at my lowest point, I listen to the following song over and over. I pray it will encourage you today.

Everlasting God

STRENGTH WILL RISE as we wait upon the Lord.
We will wait upon the Lord,
We will wait upon the Lord.
(repeat)

Our God You reign forever,
Our Hope, our strong deliverer.

You are the everlasting God,
The everlasting God.
You do not faint, You won’t grow weary.
You’re the defender of the weak,
You comfort those in need.
You lift us up on wings like eagles.

You can listen to it hear: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhMdWjL2kiU

Pray this Prayer: “Dear Lord, thank you for who you and for caring about me and listening to me. I pray that as I cast my cares upon you today, I will let them go completely. Help me trust you and have faith during this time of waiting. Encourage me, strengthen me and fill me with your hope and peace. May your plans and purpose prevail in my life. In Jesus’ precious and holy name, amen.”

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wait on the Lord

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s great to read yours. May the Lord bless you as you wait on him and I pray for strength and courage for you today and for a healthy baby.
    Every blessing.

  2. lbtk says:

    You couldn’t possibly have known how much I needed to read this post. I’m praying for you and your family. God bless.

  3. Thank you. I don’t know what is going on with you, but I pray that God will be there with you to help you through this difficult time. The Lord knows your situation, and He will be there for you. He never leaves us nor forsakes us. He knows everything past, present, and in the future. I pray He will bless you today as you lean upon him for strength.

Leave a Reply

