Bible Verses About Love

Image

Today is Valentine’s Day in America. Love is attached to giving flowers, chocolates, jewelry, teddy bears and having a romantic evening out on the town. It is a rather shallow version of love, if one can even call it that! Here are some Bible verses I have put together that provide you with a Biblical view of what it means to love.

Jeremiah 31:3

I have loved you with an everlasting love; 
I have drawn you with loving-kindness.
 
John 3:16
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son,
That whoever believes in him shall not perish 
But have eternal life.
 
John 13:1
It was just before the Passover Feast.  
Jesus knew that the time had come 
For him to leave this world and go to the Father.
Having loved his own who were in the world,
He know showed them the full extent of his love.
 
Romans 5:6-8
You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless,
Christ died for the ungodly.
Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man,
But for a good man someone might possible dare to die.  
But God demonstrates his own love for us in this:  
While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
 
I John 4:7-12
Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. 
 Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.
Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.  
This is how her showed his love among us:
He sent his one and only Son into the world
 That we might live through Him.
This is love:  not that we loved God, but that he loved us
And sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.
Dear friends, as God loved us, so we ought to love one another.
No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, 
God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.
 
1 John 3:16
This is how we know what love is:
Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.
And we ought to lay down our lives
For our brothers.
 
Ephesians 4:2
Be completely humble and gentle;
Be patient, bearing with one another in love.
 
Hebrews 10:24
Let us consider how we may spur one another
Toward love and good deeds.
 
Proverbs 17:17
A friend loves at all times.
 
I Peter 1:22
Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth
So that you have sincere love for your brothers,
Love one another deeply, from the heart. 
 
Romans 12:9-10
Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; 
Cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another
In brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.
 
Colossians 3:13-14
Bear with one another and forgive whatever grievances 
You may have against one another.
Forgive as the Lord forgave you.
And over all of these virtues put on love, 
Which binds them together in perfect unity.
 
I Peter 4:8
Above all, love each other deeply,
Because love covers a multitude of sins.
 
1 Peter 2:17
Show proper respect for everyone:
Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king.
 
John 13:34
A new command I give to you:
Love one another.
As I have loved you, 
You must love one another.
By this all men will know
That you are my disciples,
If you love one another.
 
 
Matthew 5:43-44
You have heard that it was said,
‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’
But I tell you:  Love your enemy 
And pray for those who persecute you,
That you may be sons of your Father in heaven.
He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good,
And sends rain on the righteous and unrighteous.
 
Luke 6:27-28
But I tell you who hear me:                                                                                                        Love your enemies and do good to those who hate you,                                                        Bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.
 
Luke 6:35
Love your enemies, do good to them,
And lend to them without expecting to get anything back.
 
Romans 13:10
Love does no harm to its neighbor.  
Therefore, love is fulfillment of the law.
 
Ephesians 5:25-28
Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church
And made himself holy for her to make herself holy,
Cleansing her by the washing with water through the word,
And to present her to himself as a radiant church,
Without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish,
But holy and blameless.  In this same way,
Husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies.
He who loves his wife loves himself.
 
Ephesians 5:30-33
For this reason a man will leave his father
 And mother and be united to his wife,
And the two shall become one flesh.  
This is a profound mystery–
But I am talking about Christ and the church. 
 However, each one of you
Must love his wife as he loves himself, 
And the wife must respect her husband.
 
Colossians 3:1
Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting to the Lord.
Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.
 
Song of Songs 6:3
I am my lover’s and my lover is mine.
 
Song of Songs 7:10
I belong to my lover, and his desire is for me.
 
Song of Songs 8:6-7
Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm;
For love is as strong as death, its jealously unyielding as the grave.
It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame.  
Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away.  
If one were to give all the wealth in his house for love,
It would be utterly scorned.
 
1 John 4:16-18
God is love.  
Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. 
 In this way, love is made complete among us 
So that we will have confidence on the day of judgment
Because in this world we are like him.
There is no fear in love.
But perfect love drives out fear,
Because fear has to do with punishment.
The one who fears the Lord is not made perfect in love.
 
Mark 12:30
Love the Lord your God 
With all of your heart
And with all your soul
With all of your mind
And all of your strength.
 
I Corinthians 16:14
Do everything in love.
 
Galatians 5:6
The only thing that counts is faith 
Expressing itself through love.
 
Galatians 5:13
You my brothers, were called to be free.
But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature;
 Rather serve one another in love.
 
II Timothy 2:22
Flee the evil desires of your youth,
And pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace,
Along with those who call on the Lord with a pure heart.
 
John 14:15
If you love me you will obey my commands.
 
I Corinthians 8:1
Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.
 
I Corinthians 13:1-3
If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels,
But have not love, I am only a resounding gong
Or a clanging symbol.
If I have the gift of prophecy
And can fathom mysteries and all knowledge, 
And if I have a faith that can move mountains,
But have not love, I am nothing.  
If I give all I possess to the poor
And surrender my body to the flames, 
But have not love, I gain nothing.
 
I Corinthians 13:4-8
Love is patient, love is kind
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
It is not rude, it is not self-seeking,  it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
 
Love never fails.
About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bible Verses About Love

  1. Wow, I love reading this Bible Verses About Love. Really beautiful and meaningful all words use is so touching.

Leave a Reply

