Humbly He Came

Philippians 2 5 8

It has been a long time since I have written a blog! My last blog, “Facing Your Fears” was written the day before my husband Mark and I went to the doctor to find out if God had finally answered our prayers and placed a child in my womb. I was prepared to hear that maybe the baby was in the wrong spot again, as I had experienced twice before. I was very scared that day, and I even prepared a hospital bag just in case I had to hear the words I dreaded: You’re having another ectopic pregnancy.

Mark and I went back into a room with the ultrasound tech and the ultrasound machine. I laid on the table, and the tech began to look for the baby on the ultrasound monitor. Within a couple of seconds, she found our baby! It was in the womb. It was in the right place! It had a strong heartbeat, and it was moving around! The ultrasound tech, who knew all of the crazy odds against this miracle happening, began to cry. We all cried and rejoiced right there in that moment. It was the most amazing moment of my life! Mark and I had waited more than three years for that wonderful experience. God had answered our prayers! My long and painful journey through pregnancy loss and infertility was coming to an end.

The next few months were filled with cautious excitement. Slowly we started to tell our family and close friends. After all of the morning sickness had subsided, and I made it past the first trimester, we made an official announcement to all of our family and friends. I am blessed to be well enough again to blog. I am now in my 16th week of pregnancy, and it a real blessing to watch my belly grow with the life God has placed within it. A life that God has created in His image. A life that I sincerely hope will reflect His glory and be given over to Him in service. Our baby is due in June (unless God wants him or her to come sooner), which will be exactly four years since we asked God to help us start our family.

As a think of this wonderful gift within me, I can’t help but think of Mary and Joseph. How exciting and scary it must have been for them to know that Mary was carrying the Son of God in her womb! Jesus could have come in many forms down to Earth. He left the heavenly realm, and He could have come down with all the fanfare in the world. He could have made it clear from the moment He stepped foot on soil that He is the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords. Instead He chose to enter Earth in the womb of a woman. He chose the most humble and helpless of ways to make His grand debut. He quietly entered a dark womb and waited to born. What an amazing God we serve that He would send His own son to Earth to live among creation and to die by their hands 33 years later. We can have hope everyday knowing that Jesus rose from the dead, and we have eternal life. It is all because Jesus was willing to sacrifice His own life in our place. What a gift it is to us that we have Jesus Christ as an example of true love and how to live our lives!

“Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father” Philippians 2:5-11.

Here in America, it is Christmas Eve and tomorrow will be Christmas Day. People are so caught up in entertaining guests, buying the perfect presents for family and friends, and wondering whether or not they’ll have snow to blanket the Earth and make it a white Christmas. It is so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season. Let us all remember that Jesus Christ is the greatest gift of all to mankind. Jesus is the reason for the season!

Merry Christmas Facebook Cover

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Humbly He Came

  1. Steven Sawyer says:

    Congratulations to you and Mark on the miracle growing in your womb. WHAT A MIRACLE! But you and I know God is a God of miracles. He caused the Savior of the world to be born in the womb of a virgin. He turned water into wine. He healed a blind man by touching his eyes. We serve a miraculous God. What an awesome testimony, Christina. I have missed your posts. I have suspended my blog, For His Glory temporarily, but will probably resume posting again after the first of the year. Please keep me posted. I will be praying for you and Mark and that miracle child inside to grow into, “A life that you and I sincerely hope will reflect His glory and be given over to Him in service.” God bless you.

Leave a Reply

