Let It Go

Psalm 37 7I grew up near the ocean, and whenever I was upset about something I would go down to the beach and listen to the sound of the waves crashing upon the rocks. It was as though the waves carried away my troubles and sent them out to sea.  As a mom to a newborn baby, I know that the inside of my house will never look like a fancy showroom; the yard will never appear on Better Homes & Gardens magazine; and I won’t be trying out for a chance to be crowned Miss Pennsylvania. I know that what really needs to get done will be finished by the end of the day, and that God will help me prioritize. I am learning not to sweat the small stuff. As Christians, we often have to learn to let go of our agendas and let God create His own agenda for our lives–each and every day.

As a military spouse, I move around the country with my husband’s career. With each move, God and family remain constant while everything else changes. I feel like each move represents a new mission field, and God will set the stage and create the agenda. I have a blank slate that I know only He will fill in His perfect way. He will place circumstances and people in my life and orchestrate the details. It is up to me to see how things play out and how best to respond. As a new mom, I marvel at the opportunities before me to help my newborn baby discover how God plans to fill the blank slate of her life.

It is so easily to hastily jump into our day without first consulting God. It’s pretty simple to make long-term plans that suit our needs or the needs of others. We often fill our days with unnecessary busyness. And although we may do much to help prosper the ways of man, by the time we hit the pillow we may find we have done little to prosper the Kingdom of God. Each and every day should have an eternal impact, and only God can determine what needs to be done here on Earth to impact eternity.

Many of the things we do will be consumed by fire in the end because they do not matter. There will be some things we do that are worth gold in the eyes of God–pure, undefiled and beautiful because they reach of the heart of our Creator. Have you taken the time to today to ask the Lord to examine your heart and your motives? Are you sure that what you are doing with your time is what your Heavenly Father desires? Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him. He will help guide your steps.

About faithfull4him

My name is Christina Rivas. I am a child of God. In the end, it will not matter how much money I made, how many children I had, what I did for a living, or in how many ministries I served. What matters most in life is how I live each day for God. I enjoy photography, writing, card making, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling, and exploring the Great Outdoors in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let It Go

Leave a Reply

